Why I’m encouraging a boycott of the Late Late tonight

Ok. First up for anyone outside of Ireland, the Late Late Show (generally referred to as the Late Late) is a chat show broadcast on our main State broadcaster’s channel at prime time on a Friday night. Its nothing to do with James Corden. I’ll say straight away that I’m not really a fan, I’d look at it if there was someone/thing on it that appealed to me. That isn’t a frequent occurrence.

Next thing to point out is that I support and defend free speech and freedom of expression. So why then am I encouraging people to boycott what is still one of the highest ratings shows in Ireland? Simple, its because of one of tonight’s guests, namely Katie Hopkins. In case you’ve never heard of her, she is, well what is she really? A newspaper columnist, a former EU Parliamentary candidate, a loudmouth, a contestant on various reality shows…… and in my opinion, a professional agitator.

She is famous/notorious (take your pick) for expressing ideas that many – myself included – find offensive. I’m not going to repeat them all here but they include targeting and attacking people for their body size, sneering about the names “lower class” (her words) people give their children, and probably most famously comparing migrants to “cockroaches” and “feral humans”.

None of this is nice stuff to read or hear, but as I said earlier I believe in freedom of expression, so shouldn’t she be free to say what she likes on the Late Late? In principle. yes she should. BUT for me saying those kind of things at the end of a week which saw the election of a man who has been described by one of our Senators as a fascist (hat-tip Aodhan O Riordain) and after a year which has seen a rise in racist incidents in Britain following the Brexit vote, feels like RTE are being sensationalist and giving her a platform to say things which will very likely be inflammatory. Or in other words, giving her a platform in which to spread hate. Not what I expect from our State broadcaster.

Furthermore, I don’t really think she genuinely believes a lot of what she says. I think its said to be deliberately controversial, in order to make a name for herself and get more paying gigs like appearing on TV shows and writing newspaper columns. So why then should we watch someone – indeed waste time on someone – who is only saying stuff to feed their need to be famous?

I won’t be watching. I’ve emailed RTE to tell them why and I’ve tweeted about it too. It would be great if she didn’t trend on Twitter tonight. Publicity is her oxygen. Let’s cut off the supply.

About museandchat

Busy woman, 45, feminist, married, one daughter, wannabe PhD, discovering new sides to myself all the time! Proud mum of a daughter with Dandy Walker Syndrome, community activist, passionate about history, love to read, write, cook, garden and craft.

Posted on November 11, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well said, I didn’t even know she was on it and just switched it on. She really is a vile woman. Wouldn’t let anyone else speak or disagree with her. She’s gone now, it’s safe to channel hop without risking seeing her 😊

  2. I gave her no oxygen at all. No conversation, no viewing, no interest. She’s obnoxious and someone I’m not interested in.
    With you all the way.

Leave a Reply

oftencalledcathy

My life and adventures with my severely disabled adult daughter

History Repeating

the UK Family History and Genealogy blog

Posse.

Words by Auckland based community activist, Chloe King. She isn't sorry about all the swears.

Joanne Begiato Muses on History

Talking through my research

medievalgill

a blog about medieval stuff with moderns bits thrown in for good measure

CUPID OR CATS

Almost an award winning blog

Fiona Dillon Writes

Living the good life at Hunters Lodge

Johnny Fallon

Irish Political Commentator

Irish Elections: Geography, Facts and Analyses

Elections in the Republic of Ireland (and occasionally other elections!) from a geographical perspective: maps, election boundaries, party vote patterns, turnout levels

Mama.ie

Adventures in Parenting

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

The butchers Counter's Blog

The meandering thoughts of a craft butcher

Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

raisinghopespecialneedsparenting

The young single mum and the special child

Welcome to Cork Feminista

A feminist collective in the people's republic

