History · Politics

RTE’s Rebellion – initial thoughts

I’ve just watched the first episode of RTE’s Rebellion series and overall I enjoyed it. My main thoughts:

Great to see women characters to the fore, I wonder if the Elizabeth character is a composite of Helena Molony and Countess Markievicz?? I’m not sure about the storyline with May – the idea that she took the document from Dublin Castle because she had been thrown over by her married lover. I’m not really buying that. The Frances character – I was delighted to see her wearing a Cumann na mBan brooch 🙂 – I started off liking her portrayal, but not sure how they will develop her. The moment when she said to Pearse (incidentally I thought the actor resembled Willie rather than PH) that she was happy to play her part and he then dismissed her was good to see. Not good that it happened but good to have that shown early on. Let’s see how that develops.

Very good that the different groups involved are being flagged up – Irish Citizen Army, Volunteers, hints of the IRB (although I don’t think they were named – I might have missed it) – I know for those of us who have read and studied this period, such highlighting isn’t needed, but for people who didn’t know the rebels’ backgrounds, it was probably useful. Making the main real-life protagonists into background characters works well I think, I see some people commenting on social media that they wanted to see more of the Countess or more of Connolly, well I like the idea of focusing on those who are lesser known. Good to see some slight nods to social history as well, mentions of separation money etc.

It is a dramatisation not a documentary and so can take licence with some things that an account claiming to be strictly factual cannot. I will continue to watch it because even though I know how the story ends, I want to see how they show it. Verdict on episode 1 – good, generally well acted, mostly looks good (Dublin could do with being so clean today!), not perfect, but main thing is its not one dimensional.

One thought on “RTE’s Rebellion – initial thoughts

  1. I watched it and quite enjoyed it. I’ve forgotten a lot of the Irish History I learned in school, the history that my 16 yo is learning now and thought it would be good for us both to watch this dramatisation. Hope to watch some factual documentaries/programmes too, I’m sure there’ll be an abundance of them!

Leave a Reply

