I only wanted a pair of jeans!!!

I needed a pair or two of jeans, as all my other ones had either died a death – think patches upon patches – or no longer fitted comfortably.  Now as I am currently working to lose a bit of weight and tone up, and thankfully beginning to see some changes, I decided it wasn’t worth buying decent, well cut, slightly pricey jeans as  – hopefully – they would be too big in a few months.  Cheap and cheerful seemed the way to go.  All I wanted was everyday jeans for running around in, that I could wear with boots or runners or shoes and with a variety of tops.  Not too difficult a mission you might think.  Well it seems that women can no longer just go into a shop and buy jeans.

Jeans were easy to find in every shop I went into, and I should add here that I hate clothes shopping, but then it got complicated.  I hoped to pick up a size 14 and a size 16 (cos I’m between the two sizes at present), try them on (hoping that the 14 would fit best) and then get a couple of pairs.  No such luck.  I was confronted with what to me was a mind boggling array of options and decisions to make.

Did I want bootcut, skinny, super skinny (not bloody likely), mid flare, mid rise, low cut, straight, mom jeans (actually maybe that was what I was looking for!!), boyfriend jeans, ripped jeans……..  For the love of god I just wanted a pair of jeans!!!!  After a few minutes my head was spinning.  I eventually selected a pair that seemed close to what I had in mind but then the issue of colour arose – just how many shades of blue are there???? woman-pulling-hair-out-clip-art-68089

Exasperated and bored senseless at this stage I grabbed two pairs and paid for them.  I had my daughter with me and as the shop I was in (the fourth shop that day I might add) does not have wheelchair friendly changing cubicles, I didn’t try them on.  Probably just as well.  I went for the 16’s and they are a little big (yay! but not so big that 14’s would have been better) which I don’t mind, but because I’m only 5 feet 2 inches they are rather long on me.  Long to the extent that I can only wear them with boots.  I never thought to check the length.  Feckity feckity feck.  They’ll have to do, I couldn’t face that again.  Jeans

 

 

 

About museandchat

Busy woman, 45, feminist, married, one daughter, wannabe PhD, discovering new sides to myself all the time! Proud mum of a daughter with Dandy Walker Syndrome, community activist, passionate about history, love to read, write, cook, garden and craft.

Posted on October 4, 2015, in Bits and Bobs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I stick to M&S jeans, I know they will fit and land on my waist – not halfway down my arse! I hate shopping.

  2. I just hate clothes shopping so I might use this post to my advantage…where did you buy in the end?, those are lovely jeans!

  1. Pingback: Irish Parenting Bloggers | I only wanted a pair of jeans!!!

Leave a Reply

oftencalledcathy

My life and adventures with my severely disabled adult daughter

History Repeating

the UK Family History and Genealogy blog

Posse.

Words by Auckland based community activist, Chloe King. She isn't sorry about all the swears.

Joanne Begiato Muses on History

Talking through my research

medievalgill

a blog about medieval stuff with moderns bits thrown in for good measure

CUPID OR CATS

Almost an award winning blog

Fiona Dillon Writes

Living the good life at Hunters Lodge

Johnny Fallon

Irish Political Commentator

Irish Elections: Geography, Facts and Analyses

Elections in the Republic of Ireland (and occasionally other elections!) from a geographical perspective: maps, election boundaries, party vote patterns, turnout levels

Mama.ie

Adventures in Parenting

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

The butchers Counter's Blog

The meandering thoughts of a craft butcher

Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

raisinghopespecialneedsparenting

The young single mum and the special child

Welcome to Cork Feminista

A feminist collective in the people's republic

