Parenting · Special Needs

An apology to my daughter

Darling girl, I am sorry that Mummy hasn’t been in good form today. I am sorry that I said no to reading Little Miss Sunshine for the tenth time in a row because I felt like my brain would explode if I did. I am sorry that I just could not face singing Baa Baa Black Sheep again even though you asked me to in your own sweet way. I am sorry that I had to take you into the community office today so I could catch up with what has been happening, I know you were bored.  I am sorry that I had to spend nearly an hour on the phone earlier trying to sort out an urgent problem with a piece of equipment and that I couldn’t play with you while I was doing it because there is only one room in the house I can get a clear mobile signal today.  I am sorry that I was short-tempered with you when you decided to wake up just 10 minutes after snuggling down with your blankie for a nap and my much needed cuppa was less than half drunk.   I am sorry that I scared you earlier when I burst into tears of pure frustration because I can’t get anyone to tell me when the missing piece of your new equipment will be here and what I am supposed to do now that the old one broke today.

Daddy will be home soon and Mummy will go out for a walk to try and get rid of her bad mood.  And then tomorrow we will go into battle with the system again.  Tomorrow will be a better day sweetheart, I promise xxx

 

5 thoughts on “An apology to my daughter

  1. misebandia – you don’t know how delighted I was to see these words today as it made me feel normal! I hope you get the equipment issue resolved and can get back to the happier mummy I can tell you normally are. For those of us who give, give and give to our children in terms of our time, love and patience we are bound to hit these days – especially when other factors come into the equation such as broken equipment. Be kind to yourself, enjoy your walks, hold on to your sanity! Don’t forget to look after you – your little girl will be all the better for it – kindest regards, The Mad Mammy 🙂

Leave a Reply

