Be careful what you wish for! My book loving daughter

Anyone who knows me even a bit knows how much I love books and reading. Friends have been known to post things like this on my Facebook page: books

Anyone who has been to our house has seen the evidence of that for themselves as shown by the bookshelves in our room, our daughter’s room and our living room. Exhibit A m’lud:

books, reading, bookshelves

You can never have too many books

In my defence, not ALL of these are mine. Just most of them.

My husband suggested buying me a Kindle or similar for my birthday a few years ago but I wasn’t keen. He was surprised, having thought (quite logically) that I would love to be able to have loads of books literally at my fingertips anytime I wanted. But I like the physicality of a book. I love to turn the pages (and I will admit I am terrible for dog-earing books) and curl up with a book on my lap. Somehow an electronic device just doesn’t feel the same. Yes I have definite Luddite tendencies too. I’ve always loved books and was able to read independently from a young age. It does occasionally cross my mind that maybe I use books as a way of blocking out the rest of the world – but then again maybe that’s just so I can have more time for reading!!

I’ve never had much interest in clothes/fashion/make up etc and the idea of spending a day shopping as a pastime fills me with dread. Unless of course its bookshops. I genuinely find it hard to pass a bookshop, especially one I’ve never been in before. I have library cards for Meath, Westmeath, Cavan, Fingal and Dublin City libraries. And at present I have books from most of these on my desk….

books, library, libraries

The current stash of library books

So as both of us are book lovers and read voraciously as children, we fully intended that any child of ours would be encouraged to love books and reading too. As regular visitors here will know, our gorgeous little daughter has intellectual disabilities and cannot read yet. But she adores books and being read to and will ‘read’ to herself in her own little way. Naturally we are delighted by this, apart from the sheer enjoyment she gets from it, this also helps with her speech and language development as well as her fine and gross motor skills. Oh yes, any activity can be counted as part of the home therapy programme 😉

When we moved into this house, I quickly identified two favourite spots for reading. I will read anywhere, but there are two favourite spots I have. One is on the landing at the top of the stairs right under the window. This gives me lots of natural light and also easy access to the books upstairs. The other is on the sofa under our living room window. After our daughter was born my reading time inevitably dropped dramatically for a good while but thankfully as she settled into a regular nap routine, I was able to get back into it. As she got bigger and eventually began to sit up on her own and then progress to moving around a little bit, my reading again became more confined to a few snatched minutes here and there. It was at this stage my husband became accustomed to finding four or five books left open at various places around the house, this was so I could carry on reading wherever she wanted to explore. And no I was not being a bad mum by reading while she was exploring, its just that there are only so many times you can feign fascination with opening and closing the same drawer and besides she seemed to get more fun out of doing it herself.

About 18 months ago, our wee girl decided for herself that if she wanted to ‘read’ one of her books or have one read to her, then there was only one place that should happen. On the sofa under the window, i.e. one of my favourite reading spots. This has now progressed to the point where the first words she says every day when she gets home from school are ‘book’ followed by ‘sofa’. I fear I may have created a monster. So now I cannot sit and read on that sofa while she is in the room unless she is engrossed in something else. As she is now able to get to her books unaided, select one and then climb onto said sofa, I have increasingly found I am being asked to vacate sofa so she can have it. This either comes in the form of a gentle shove (which is a great game) or occasionally the ‘request’ “Get off”. Charming. At least when I go searching for a book, I put the others back on the shelf, not like a certain little person! children's books, books, reading

And then the other day I caught her. Sitting cross legged (v cute) on the landing under the window ‘reading’ the book that was on my bedside locker. I may have to accept this is a battle I will lose.

About museandchat

Busy woman, 45, feminist, married, one daughter, wannabe PhD, discovering new sides to myself all the time! Proud mum of a daughter with Dandy Walker Syndrome, community activist, passionate about history, love to read, write, cook, garden and craft.

Posted on April 29, 2015, in Books, Parenting, Special Needs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love this! We’re a family of bookworms too. My daughters often write their own book reviews for the blog. When my eldest can’t be found, I head straight to her room and look under her desk which she’s often found with her head in a book!

Leave a Reply

oftencalledcathy

My life and adventures with my severely disabled adult daughter

History Repeating

the UK Family History and Genealogy blog

Posse.

Words by Auckland based community activist, Chloe King. She isn't sorry about all the swears.

Joanne Begiato Muses on History

Talking through my research

medievalgill

a blog about medieval stuff with moderns bits thrown in for good measure

CUPID OR CATS

Almost an award winning blog

Fiona Dillon Writes

Living the good life at Hunters Lodge

Johnny Fallon

Irish Political Commentator

Irish Elections: Geography, Facts and Analyses

Elections in the Republic of Ireland (and occasionally other elections!) from a geographical perspective: maps, election boundaries, party vote patterns, turnout levels

Mama.ie

Adventures in Parenting

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

The butchers Counter's Blog

The meandering thoughts of a craft butcher

Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

raisinghopespecialneedsparenting

The young single mum and the special child

Welcome to Cork Feminista

A feminist collective in the people's republic

