A big day today and I’m a quivering wreck

Parenting brings with it lots of ‘big days’ – first day at preschool, then at big school etc, and these are bring up a huge swell of emotions for parents. I bawled on my daughter’s first day at preschool – but not until I got back in my car. She didn’t turn a hair when I left. Big school was very emotional but not teary. But today brings another big day for our little family and I freely admit I’m a wreck over it.

Our feisty little big girl is going to overnight respite for the first time. This will be the first time she has stayed anywhere without Mum and Dad. This will be the first time anyone else will have ever put her to bed or gotten her up in the morning. She has been to the respite home a good few times now and loves it, so she is familiar with the place and with the team there. They are well used to her little ways and how she communicates etc. She left on the school bus as normal this morning and won’t be home until tomorrow afternoon.

I know in my heart of hearts she will be fine. Our pixie has always adapted to change well, and while she likes her routine, she can cope with changes. She will be at school today and tomorrow which she adores. But I’m very nervous, I know I am probably projecting, but I keep hoping she settles ok, that she sleeps ok, that she doesn’t get upset and start looking for us.

This is a huge step for us all, for me in learning to let go that little bit more, for our daughter in developing her independence that little bit more and for us as a couple to get used to having free time. We have never had a night away from her together since she was born. I have spent the last couple of days thinking of things to do to keep myself busy. We have been looking for respite care for the last year or so and I know it is a hugely important and good thing. But now that it is really happening……. eeeeek.

I’ll let you know how we all got on.

About museandchat

Busy woman, 45, feminist, married, one daughter, wannabe PhD, discovering new sides to myself all the time! Proud mum of a daughter with Dandy Walker Syndrome, community activist, passionate about history, love to read, write, cook, garden and craft.

Posted on March 25, 2015, in Parenting, Special Needs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh gosh, I know those feelings so so well. It sounds like she will be fine, and you will be fine too, and soon she will be looking forwards to her ‘sleepovers’ (as I call them) you and your OH will be enjoying the break xxxx

  2. I can only imagine how you are feeling and I’m sure she’ll be fine. Brave step and an important one too. Good luck!

  1. Pingback: So the sleepover went great …. | Musings and chatterings...

Leave a Reply

oftencalledcathy

My life and adventures with my severely disabled adult daughter

History Repeating

the UK Family History and Genealogy blog

Posse.

Words by Auckland based community activist, Chloe King. She isn't sorry about all the swears.

Joanne Begiato Muses on History

Talking through my research

medievalgill

a blog about medieval stuff with moderns bits thrown in for good measure

CUPID OR CATS

Almost an award winning blog

Fiona Dillon Writes

Living the good life at Hunters Lodge

Johnny Fallon

Irish Political Commentator

Irish Elections: Geography, Facts and Analyses

Elections in the Republic of Ireland (and occasionally other elections!) from a geographical perspective: maps, election boundaries, party vote patterns, turnout levels

Mama.ie

Adventures in Parenting

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

The butchers Counter's Blog

The meandering thoughts of a craft butcher

Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

raisinghopespecialneedsparenting

The young single mum and the special child

Welcome to Cork Feminista

A feminist collective in the people's republic

