A Year of Living Seasonally

How is it nearly February already?

I know I have been talking about my Year of Living Seasonally on here from time to time but seriously, how the hell is it nearly February already?  It seems like only a few days ago since my husband went back to work and our daughter back to school – more like 3 weeks ago.  I was pondering this while gazing out at the falling snow earlier, mug of tea firmly clasped in hand.  This January (2015 in case anyone’s reading this in years to come) has been a bit of an mixed bag weather wise.  Its been cold, we’ve had some snow (not much really), some very strong winds and now its gorgeously sunny and bracing out there.  But it hasn’t felt like a typical January to me.  Is that because I am trying to slow down and notice things more?  If that’s the case then why has the end of the month snuck up on me?   Time to take stock I think.

So what did I do in January?  Well, I’ve been working on a new course to teach, picked up another rotten cold which I then shared with everyone else (why should I suffer alone??), didn’t make any New Year resolutions (not my thing – see here), got more into knitting, read a few books…… yeah it was a good enough month all told.  But it seems to have just slipped by me in some ways.  Aha!  That’s the slowing down and taking time thing isn’t it?  This Year of Living Seasonally lark must be starting to kick in.  January is a cold month, evenings still dark, weather can be dodgy, so its a good time to chill and hibernate a bit.  THAT’S what I’ve been doing – I just didn’t realise it.

Imbolc is just around the corner.  I feel its time to step up a gear.

2 thoughts on “How is it nearly February already?

  1. January has (as of course it is supposed to be!!!) soooo dark, hibernation is the only thing to do *and* ties in perfectly with living seasonally (or so I’m telling myself anyway!)

Leave a Reply

