A Year of Living Seasonally · Ritual food

Borrowing a tradition

I’ve been a bit busy of late but my Year of Living Seasonally project is still ongoing. Its now late November and my attention has been turning to Christmas but it occurred to me the other day that November gets a bit of a raw deal in terms of calendar celebrations, occasions etc. Musing this over a cuppa I was reminded of Mary Feely’s piece in the Irish Times earlier this month. Here in Ireland it would be fair to say that November is seen by many as a nothing month, or a month to lay off drink in order to gear up for December, or more recently a month when a lot of men become decidedly hairy in a good cause. But in terms of seasonal living and thinking, there’s not a huge lot going on. I grew up in England where “Remember remember the 5th of November” meant huge excitement with bonfires, fireworks and in our house a dinner of baked potatoes and sausage rolls. As a child I was more excited about Bonfire Night than Hallowe’en. Its not marked over here and I still kind of miss it. Ah well.

After reading the article linked above I started thinking about the American holiday of Thanksgiving. I’ve never celebrated or observed it, not being American, having never lived with an American and having never been to America (yet) and so I don’t pretend to be an expert on it. But from what I understand its to do with giving thanks for the harvest (please do correct me if I’m wrong) and that quite appeals to me, again its the idea of marking a turn in the year. So I think I might have a go at doing some kind of a Thanksgiving dinner. I’ve asked a few American friends for the essentials of such a dinner but I’m open to all suggestions! So any Thanksgiving veterans out there, do please share your meal plans/recipes etc with me, I’d love to hear them.

2 thoughts on “Borrowing a tradition

  1. Firstly, I’ve really enjoyed this series so far, it’s something close to my heart and I’ve learned a lot from your posts eventhough I would have thought I already knew a lot about traditions, etc! I did post a comment a few posts ago but I knew at the time it hadn’t been successful and forgot to follow-up on it. Secondly,I, too, am very interested in Thanksgiving. When my brother married an American I remember thinking I’d love if we all got swayed towards celebrating Thanksgiving, it’s such a wonderful idea. I’ll continue to check in for your Year Of Living Seasonally, looking forward to your posts.

    1. Hi, sorry I’ve only seen this now. I really like the idea of Thanksgiving and think I will be incorporating it into my family’s traditions in some shape or form from now on. I’ll be updating the Year of Living Seasonally very soon!

Leave a Reply

