Is being busy all the time good for you?

I’m perpetually busy. Some of the things that keep me busy are routine things that have to be done – housework etc., my daughter’s appointments, others are more interesting – college, a small amount of teaching, community groups I am involved in (possibly too many of them) and still others are things I would love to spend more time on – my history research, my garden…. So my time is pretty full. It’s rare enough that I find myself with a half hour that I can take off and not feel guilty for not doing something else. I had one of those rare times today. After getting herself up and off on the bus at 8am, I got myself sorted out bag packed up and off to Navan for a new class (which went really well) then down to Blanchardstown to get swim gear for F and I for Monday (she’s starting swimming with school and I am going along to help out). Got home with 35 mins to spare before she arrived back after school. So instead of tackling the laundry or the myriad of other tasks that are on my never-ending to do list I made myself a cuppa, and sat down with a chocolate bar and a good book. For a whole half hour I just sat and relaxed. What’s seldom is wonderful!

But it made me wonder if being busy all the time is good for me? Its not a new thing, I’ve always been like this. It can cause problems in that I get a name for being busy – and then I get asked to do more things “load the willing donkey” and so I get busier with things that maybe I don’t want to devote so much of my time to and so end up with less time to do the things I really love or just to have time to stop for a while. And THAT cannot be good. So there’s the answer to my question I think. But how to change that? Well, maybe taking half an hour a day to just be rather than to do is a start. Watch this space!

Today’s #100HappyDays pic 30 minutes down time

About museandchat

Busy woman, 45, feminist, married, one daughter, wannabe PhD, discovering new sides to myself all the time! Proud mum of a daughter with Dandy Walker Syndrome, community activist, passionate about history, love to read, write, cook, garden and craft.

Posted on May 8, 2014, in 100 Happy Days, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I firmly believe that we all need time out. I think when we are too busy we do not pay attention to our own mental and physical health, so each day I try to allocate guilt free time to “doing nothing”. In other words when I sit in the sitting room at 11am watching some crap on tv for a half hour I think to myself, “I am doing this for my family!”. 🙂

  2. The answer to the question is surely ‘no’, but I’ve never been able to relax, at least not until I’m completely exhausted!

Leave a Reply

oftencalledcathy

My life and adventures with my severely disabled adult daughter

History Repeating

the UK Family History and Genealogy blog

Posse.

Words by Auckland based community activist, Chloe King. She isn't sorry about all the swears.

Joanne Begiato Muses on History

Talking through my research

medievalgill

a blog about medieval stuff with moderns bits thrown in for good measure

CUPID OR CATS

Almost an award winning blog

Fiona Dillon Writes

Living the good life at Hunters Lodge

Johnny Fallon

Irish Political Commentator

Irish Elections: Geography, Facts and Analyses

Elections in the Republic of Ireland (and occasionally other elections!) from a geographical perspective: maps, election boundaries, party vote patterns, turnout levels

Mama.ie

Adventures in Parenting

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

The butchers Counter's Blog

The meandering thoughts of a craft butcher

Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

raisinghopespecialneedsparenting

The young single mum and the special child

Welcome to Cork Feminista

A feminist collective in the people's republic

