Parenting

Oops I didn’t do it – again

No I swear I am not getting into a habit of recycling song titles to use as blog post titles apologies to the Proclaimers but this line came up in a conversation I was having with friends earlier. (Actually on that point, is a multi-person message on Facebook a conversation??) Anyway, we were chatting about Hallowe’en outfits for children. I hadn’t bought one for herself yet – to be honest I wasn’t even sure I was going to as we don’t do trick or treating, its just not safe on our road – but then got a message home from school yesterday to say the children can wear their Hallowe’en outfits in tomorrow as they are having a party. Shite. Cue panicky rummaging through her clothes – nada that is even vaguely Hallowe’en-esque. Our town is small (and I like it that way) but it means not a great selection of outfits. Anyway we have purchased two out of which I will attempt tonight to cobble one.

And that reminded me that every year of my daughter’s life I have decided to make her a Hallowe’en outfit. And every spring I’ve had the best intentions to do something with eggs and chicks (fake ones). And in the run up to Christmas I always think how lovely it would be to make an Advent calendar for her. And I haven’t done any of them yet. But I’m not beating myself up over it, I’ve realised I get nearly as much enjoyment out of thinking about these projects and looking up creative ideas as I would out of actually doing them and that’s got to be good, right?

Leave a Reply

