food

When life gives you lemons – make lemon curd!!!

Fruit curd for Valentine's

 

Sometimes I get a little carried away in the kitchen.  Yesterday was Valentine’s Day and while I was thinking about the meal I was going to cook for my husband and I (sound like the Queen there!!) I sussed that I had a load of lemons in the kitchen and some cranberries left over from Christmas in the darkest recesses of my fridge.  So – cos I had nothing else to do! – I made cranberry curd and lemon curd.  I had made both of them before but I tried a different lemon curd recipe this time (Darina Allen’s actually and it is by far the nicest ever).  So as well as a meal of crab cakes, T-bone steak with chips, mushrooms and onions followed by lemon meringue pie, I also made these……. I don’t think they will last terribly long!!!

Actually just writing that has made me see how easily I am sucked in by descriptions on restaurant menus.  I cooked T-bone steak and chips – but I could have equally described it as “pan-seared prime Irish T-bone steak (in fact very local – raised and slaughtered less than 5 miles from my kitchen) served with handcut potato chips, sprinkled with sea salt and served with slivers of mushroom and onion sauteed in a delicate garlic butter.”  See what I mean??

Anyway, it all tasted bloody good!!!!

 

2 thoughts on “When life gives you lemons – make lemon curd!!!

Leave a Reply

